Face Off

There was movie in 1997 called, “Face Off”, and it starred John Travolta and Nicholas Cage. Travolta was an FBI agent and Cage was a terrorist.. Cage is in a plane crash and severely injured.. Doctors are able to surgically remove the faces of both men so that Travolta can use Cage’s face as his own to elicit information concerning a bomb from Cage’s brother.. hence the title, “Face Off.”

Isn’t this what we do in our lives, everyday? Wear the face of who we want people to see? We wear a face of smiles and laughter, when we are really crying underneath.. we wear a face of coldness when we try to hide our feelings.. we even wear faces of nonchalance because we don’t wanna show that we care.. the question is.. why? Why do we wear different faces? Are we hiding from the world? Or are we hiding from ourselves?

When did it become unacceptable to show that you hurt? Maybe showing the hurt can help you heal..

When did it become unacceptable to show emotion? Maybe showing emotion can help you feel…

I hid behind so many faces that I didn’t recognize my own when I looked in the mirror.. as I’ve found myself, I’ve found my own face and have learned to appreciate its beauty as it is.. opening myself to feel again has allowed me to blossom and grow.. not only can I see the beauty of the world, I can feel it…

Travolta can change his face but he was still a cop underneath…

You can change your face all you want but you are still who you are underneath the facade..

Be yourself… being someone else is simply NOT AN OPTION!!

Leave a comment